An Honest Girl’s Guide to Adultery

What struck me in this article was how many (46%) admitted to cheating in a relationship, but I’m guessing the real number is much higher than that? Things aren’t always black and white but I do believe if one is on the path to cheat on their partner, there’s obviously a lot more that’s wrong than right in the relationship itself and the actual act of cheating is just you telling yourself, it’s over. I know this is a hot-button issue - what do you think?

An Honest Girl’s Guide to Adultery

1 Like

I found this article eye opening and heartbreaking, and it was about much more than the already loaded concept of adultery. She went through a whole sexual identity shift, so it’s hard for me to imagine her emotional state. I am new to marriage, just 1.5 years, though I was with someone for years prior, and he was abusive, unfaithful, the worst. Where I am right now, I can’t even contemplate adultery, but I also don’t judge the author for it. This line was a kick to my gut: It never occurred to me that you and your partner are a fledgling tree whose branches can grow in opposite directions through the years, even if you still love the other to the root." - I hope this doesn’t happen to me, but it has me rethinking the various paths that can lead to the same outcome of adultery. :thinking: :broken_heart:

3 Likes

It’s interesting when they break down the reasons.

2 Likes

Awwwww… that line though…… yes heartbreaking but it’s so true. I wish society made it ok to go in separate directions and not have it be such a tragedy. It’s already difficult enough between the two people, why layer on all the legal complications of separation and divorce and custody battles. We should just be made to renew the contract after 2-3 years haha. I just don’t understand why it always has to be either Til Death do Is Apart or nothing…….

3 Likes