Mid Life Career Changes Thread

:thread:Starting a thread here about making a job or career change in your midlife. If you have made a change or are thinking about one, please tell us here all about it. :arrow_down_small:

Related Reading
I Was Terrified to Start Over at Age 50. Here’s How I Did it Anyway

1 Like

Ladies, all I can say is, be brave enough to suck at something new! This is a topic that has been occupying my heart and mind for the last year, and it has filled me with overwhelming thoughts and emotions of all kinds. After over 15 years as a contact center manager, I am now making a career pivot in my 40’s, after spending most of the last year on medical leave.
A few years ago, I began to struggle with finding balance between my work and personal life. I had enjoyed working hard to build a strong foundation for my career, living the single life downtown, traveling and meeting new people, and having fun adventures. I worked hard and I played hard, because I was young and had the energy to. I used to joke that I’ll sleep when I’m dead. I wore my work ethic and independence as a badge of honor, and it was a source of pride and part of my identity.