Please don't deny my right to be a victim

When I was a teenager I was molested following years of grooming.

It was one incident that derailed my thinking and self-image so dramatically that I carried the damage into my choices and behavior in all life domains from personal to professional.

This, in turn, affected how I moved forward in my life and future.

Over the years, I’ve heard the term victim being exchanged for survivor. The intent is well meaning. I know it’s meant to be empowering.

But I’m a writer and I can’t help but analyze words.

For me, rewriting victim in exchange for survivor denies my right experience and its effects on the person I am today. I was a victim. That fact hasn’t changed. But I’m also a survivor. Both matter to me.

Depending on the long-term effects of trauma, you can still be coping and be a “victim” who, at the same time, is a strong, determined survivor.

I’ve had countless years of therapy. My life was spent “overcoming”.

Today I no longer feel like a victim, nor do I act like one. But being a victim isn’t in the past. It’s part of who I’ve become and why I’ve become the person I am.

It’s the reason why I have the empathy, intuition, a richness of spirit and defiance.

This is such a personal position. What’s yours?

2 Likes

I fully support you being the one that gets to choose how you are described, as you are the one that lived it!

3 Likes